Dr. Kamaleswaran is invited to serve as a member of the prestigious Surviving Sepsis Campaign (SSC) Research Committee (2024-27).

The Surviving Sepsis Campaign (SSC) is a joint collaboration of the Society of Critical Care Medicine (SCCM) and the European Society of Intensive Care Medicine (ESICM) committed to reducing mortality and morbidity from sepsis and septic shock worldwide. Read more

The SSC research committee is responsible for outlining research priorities in sepsis care. Members are appointed by the European Society of Intensive Care Medicine and the Society of Critical Care Medicine.


Seibi Kobara  - Inaugural Quad Fellowship Award

Quad fellowship is an initiative of the governments of Australia, India, Japan, and the United States, sponsoring exceptional American, Japanese, Australian, and Indian master's and doctoral students in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) to advance innovation and collaboration in the private, public, and academic sectors, in their own nations and among Quad countries.

Dr. Rishi Kamaleswaran and Emory University PhD student Alireza Rafiei were part of the team recognized by the American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP) for their recently published paper titled “Pharmacophenotype identification of intensive care unit medications using unsupervised cluster analysis of the ICURx common data model” named the 2023 Critical Care paper of the year. 


Min Huang

Seibi Kobara

Seibi Kobara, PT, MPH and Min Huang won the David Cowan Scholarship 2022 from the Georgia Chapter of the Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society (GA HIMSS). This scholarship is sponsored by leading firms of healthcare information technology, aiming at educating future leaders to advocate collaboration and improve the quality of medical services. Both Seibi and Min are working with Associate Professor Rishikesan Kamaleswaran to deepen our understanding of the complicated pathophysiology of sepsis and its complications to bring benefit to patients.

2022 Harvey J Greenberg Research Award

Winners: Zeyu Liu and Anahita Khojandi and Xueping Li and Akram Mohammed and Robert L Davis (Tennessee), and Rishikesan Kamaleswaran (Emory)  for their paper "A Machine Learning–Enabled Partially Observable Markov Decision Process Framework for Early Sepsis Prediction," INFORMS Journal on Computing, published online March 22,2022.

Jeffery Smith Jr. (Co-advised with Yao Xie) won 1st place in student paper competition at the 2022 AMIA Annual Conference.
The AMIA Annual Symposium is the world’s premier meeting for the research and practice of biomedical and health informatics. The meeting gathers the whole AMIA community of students and professionals, plus academic and corporate members, and government and non-profit partners.  

Paper Presented: Smith J, Josef C, Xie Y, Kamaleswaran R. Online Critical-State Detection of Sepsis Among ICU Patients using Jensen-Shannon Divergence. AMIA Annu Symp Proc. 2023 Apr 29;2022:982-991. PMID: 37128380; PMCID: PMC10148343 


Kushal Kodnad (EECS, UC Berkley) was selected as the AMIA 2021 Annual Symposium High School Scholar. He presented his original research paper titled “Predicting Same Hospital Readmission Following Fontan Cavopulmonary Anastomosis using Machine Learning” 



Dr. Kamaleswaran was recognized for outstanding original investigative research at the 48th Critical Care Congress hosted by the Society of Critical Care Medicine (SCCM), a leading non-profit organization dedicated to upholding excellence in critical care practices. The Star Research Award, signifies the exceptional quality and impact of their abstract, which was submitted for consideration and, upon acceptance, presented at the Congress.